Accordion, Musical Life

The Musings of a Wannabe Accordion Repair Tech

So. . . it’s been eleven days since my last post. . . and have I been busy!
I’ve been working like crazy on my little accordion, and enjoying every minute of it.  I decided to show y’all some pictures.

This is a picture of some of my tools. . . Not a single professional tool among them. Most are dental tools. . . two dental picks and a toothbrush. I have a cutting knife, a small screwdriver, and the funny thing in the center — which happens to be homemade and used for channeling wax in between the reeds. This is not how the pros do it, and I’m thinking I’d like to get the real tool eventually.

Here’s another shot of my tools, and in the back you can see a block of reeds that I cleaned, put new ‘leathers’ on, and rewaxed.

This is an upclose view of the newly waxed and reworked reed blocks.

I’m getting closer to finished with this part of the repairs. And every reed I do makes the accordion sound better.  I’m so pleased.

Please do note that I am NOT an professional accordion repair tech.  I do these repairs at my own risk. 😀

But I sure do know my accordion, inside and out.

3 thoughts on “The Musings of a Wannabe Accordion Repair Tech”

  1. Hi! That's really neat that you're building those. I am no expert at repair, but if the Cajun is a diatonic instrument, then no, you wouldn't be able to use reeds from a piano accordion. Hohner (http://www.hohnerusa.com/), might be a good contact since I know that they carry parts, tools, etc. I have also met one of their main representatives and found him quite helpful in the area of accordion repair. They have a repair section in the Hohner factory in Virginia and you might be able to get some advice through them.
    Thanks for the comment!

    Like

  2. Hi, I'm learning how to build Cajun accordions and would like to know if I can use reeds from a piano accordion in it? Thanks, and enjoyed your article.

    Like

Leave a Reply

