Costume Studies, Creativity, One Night With The King

One Night With The King: The Haman Confrontation Gown

To start out the week, I would like to present the next costume study for One Night With The King.  This was a special request — though it was on my list to do next. 😀 Thanks Bethany for getting me back to this. 🙂

Though you only see this in one brief scene, this gown is one of my favorites.  I truly would have loved to see more of this outfit, as it’s so beautiful and unusual.  (Click on the pictures to see a larger image)

Bodice

The bodice of this gown consists of basically two parts: midriff and bodice.  At least, I’m lumping them together for ease.

The bodice is a hazy pink and the midriff a light green.  Quite the colors for a Persian Queen. (I highly doubt the historical quality of this gown . . . but that doesn’t stop me from liking it. 😀 )

These pieces are both highly embellished with both cording and beadwork, which includes a lot of pearls.  I believe they were embellished before being sewn together, for if you look closely, many of the gridwork lines do not meet up correctly.

The bodice and midriff are constructed with princess seams. The thing that strikes me as strange is that they first stitched a the midriff pieces to the bodice pieces and then princess seamed them together.  This makes the trim at the waist and under the bust not match up correctly.   I think, that if I ever wanted to make a reproduction of this dress, that I would first sew the midriff pieces to each other as well as the bodice pieces.  I would then sew the midriff to the bodice.  I also think that the fabric should be embellished either before the midriff is attached to the bodice or just after — as that would allow the designs to match up.

This bodice has trim under the bust as well as forming a slightly dropped waistline.

The shoulder straps seem to be merely an embellished trim.

I really can’t tell you that much about the back of the bodice, as it’s almost not even shown, and when it is shown, you can’t see much.   I have drawn a rough sketch of the gown below (Though the drape is not as long as it should be and the lower waistline not as curved as the actual dress).

Note: I always have to use a croquis when I draw these, and I wish I could credit the original designer of this croquis, however, I don’t remember where I got this one or who designed it.  If you know, I’d love to be able to credit them.  Hopefully someday I will be able to draw people all on my own without tracing them!

Skirt

The skirt appears to be very full and also very embellished. It is definitely pleated at the waist and the pleats pressed all the way to the hem.  It is floor length. I can’t tell you much more about it, except that it seems to be the same color as the midriff and the embellishment covers most of the skirt until it forms a wide border at the bottom.

Attached Cape

I really have no idea what to call this.. I’m sure there’s a word for it, but I just don’t know it.  If any of you know, I’d love to learn!

I really like this aspect of this outfit.  It’s a bright pink sheer fabric with embellished trim around all the edges.  There seem to be little jeweled flowers scattered all over it as well.

It wraps around Hadassah’s upper arms and attaches to the front of the bodice with two large gold filigree broaches. It attaches in the same place in the back, but without the broaches.  The cape also is draped and attached at one place to the very center back of her gown. (Dare I guess that it’s hiding a zipper?)

The cape is also very long, as you can see it trailing along the ground in this picture:

I didn’t realize it was that long when I did my sketches of the dress.

I would guess that this piece is simply a large half-circle.  See my drawing below for how I believe it would be constructed.

Accessories

With this outfit, Queen Esther wears a beaded choker necklace, a couple bracelets, a ring, and a circlet that seems to be merely a fine chain (hidden mostly under her hair) with a gold and pearl drop in her forehead.

Do you have any construction observations you want to share about this costume?

Ever curious and willing to learn,
post signature

9 thoughts on “One Night With The King: The Haman Confrontation Gown”

  1. I have always loved this movie mainly because of the wardrobe! The colors and embelishments are mesmorizing! I will often pause the movie to study the designs! I LOVE how you broke down each element of all of her dresses! Thank you!! I am thoroughly enjoying reading this!

    Like

  2. Missy — I love you sis. 😀 I don't think you'd wear it if I did make it.

    Sarah — Thank you for your comment. 😀 Yes, I am planning on doing more, I have just been buried by business lately. Hopefully I'll have a chance to work on the next one this week. Though with Thanksgiving almost here, I have no idea if I'll get a spare moment, but I'll sure try!

    Like

Leave a Reply

