Faith & Life

When Life Hits Hard

The past month has been . . . hard.  The first two weeks I was in bed a lot – the first because of an ankle injury, the second because of a severe cold or something.  I don’t go down easily – or stay down easily.  Though I didn’t mind that too much.

The hard part has been seeing my Mom’s health crash severely. My family has rallied around her and is working to pull her back – naturally.  It works, but it takes some time and is exhausting for all of us.

All through this, the one verse that I have really held tight to is in Psalms.

“I will extol the Lord at all times:  his praise will always be on my lips.” Psalm 34:1

Time after time, at the hardest moments, I would remember that verse.  Though it might have been the last thing I wanted to do at the time – I repeated it, and followed its advice.  I praised God.  Though I did tell Him more than once that I didn’t really feel like doing it, I did it.  I know He understands that.  The funny thing is this:  while praising God when I felt more like crying or being depressed was really hard, it somehow became easier each time I did it – and my spirits would lift and I would have that beautiful thing called hope bloom in my heart.  Somehow, it brought my attention off my troubles to the realization that God is bigger.  No matter what may happen God is good!  Even when life hits hard and is absolutely terrible.  God IS good!!!


Dear Followers:  I need your help!
We have Mom on a diet that consists of fish, chicken, and vegetables.  The only fruits she is allowed are pears and apples.  You may imagine this poses quite a challenge when cooking meals.

Do any of you have any recipes that might work?   I am seriously in need of some more ideas.   Even if a recipe isn’t quite right, if it’s close, it might at least inspire me to make it work.
Thank you in advance for your help!

P.S.:  I promise to get back to blogging as soon as I can, but it has truly been the last thing on my mind in light of Mom’s illness.


Blessings,
post signature

Featured image courtesy of Unsplash.com

5 thoughts on “When Life Hits Hard”

  1. Thank you both so much. I really appreciate the prayers and encouragement.

    Natasha – I'm sorry – that is hard. I will be praying for you and yours as well.

    Kellie – So good to see you back! 😀 Thank you for the comment and the prayers.

    Bless you both,
    Chip

    Like

  2. I am so sorry to hear of the difficult times you have been having lately!
    I will be praying for you and your family as you go through this . God is good, and he will give you the strength and the grace to do whatever he has in store for you.
    Thank you for sharing this beautiful verse. Praise the Lord!

    Stay encouraged!

    Lovingly,
    ~Kellie~

    P.S. I can't think of any recipes you might use at the moment, but if I do, I'll certainly pass them on to you.

    Like

  3. I'm so sorry that you've been sick and that your mom is suffering health problems!
    My mom has been dealing with severe health problems for about a year now, so I truly know how hard and exhausting it is.

    That's a wonderful verse! Psalms has been the book I've read the most during my mom's illness. There's something there for every single situation. God IS good – thank you so much for that reminder. I needed that:)

    I also know what it feels like to look at a diet list and think “So, is there anything I can cook that Mom can eat?!” lol. I can't think of any recipes at the moment, but I'll let you know if I do:)
    I will also be praying for your entire family.

    In Christ,
    ~Tasha~

    Like

Leave a Reply

