Musical Life, Musical Thoughts

The Gift of Music

Music is amazing. It’s one of those things that can reach across cultures, across language barriers.  For me, it’s been a comfort, a way of expressing emotions.

Music is a form of expression, a language all its own – a way of expressing, sometimes without words, the feelings of the heart.

So much of my life has been to a soundtrack:  accordion, piano, a bit of guitar, a dabbling of mandolin. Music is a form of expression, a language all its own – a way of expressing, sometimes without words, the feelings of the heart. There have been times when I have dealt with depression in my life from the various trials and hard times I have encountered.  When I am at my lowest, I pull out my accordion and hold it close, allowing the vibrations of the sound to express what I feel.  The familiarity and personal closeness of the instrument are comforting.  It is truly a gift from God.

A song can make us laugh, or make us cry, make us dance, or remember someone special.

The same is true when I am happy – as my music expresses joy. Whether in sadness or joy, and any emotion in between, music is an amazing, God-given form of expression.  A song can make us laugh, or make us cry, make us dance, or remember someone special.  Music is truly an amazing gift, whether you are the musician or the listener. In what ways has music touched your life?

Leave a Reply

