Chip's Projects, Creativity

Project Files: Keep Truckin’ Leather Wallet

Many years ago, I tooled a leather wallet for my Dad. It would be an understatement to say that it’s starting to show some wear. To put it bluntly, it’s falling apart.

Since his wallet was in such a sad state, I decided to make him a new one as a gift last Christmas. But, I wanted it to be special. My dad is a trucker, and spends many hours on the road hauling loads and working hard. He also loves being home at the log cabin by the creek.

I surfed his Facebook photos and pulled a photo of his big rig, then I used the photo he had taken to design the wallet. I did take some artistic license and put his truck on the road next to the cabin.

WalletSketch

Here are some photos of the process and the finished project.

KeepTruckinWallet3

The photo above shows the beginning of the tooling process.

KeepTruckinWallet2

Dyed and ready to be assembled.

Walletinterior

I tooled his logo on the inside pocket, his name is tooled on the other side.

KeepTruckinWallet

The completed wallet!  It turned out better than I had hoped. All in all, it took about 6-7 hours, but was completely worth it.

Dad likes it better than anything I’ve made for him before – I know because instead of using it, he put it on display in the living room.  Maybe I need to make him a simpler one for everyday use? 🙂

Leave a Reply

