Everyday Living, Faith & Life

Encouragement: Wait for, Hope for, and Expect Him

Are you really super good at waiting?  When there is something you really, really want, is waiting easy? If things aren’t going as planned and you feel you can’t do anything about it, is it easy to wait it out?
Let me ask a different question.  Is it worth the wait?
One of my favorite chapters in Psalms has been 27. I’d always read it in the NIV, then one day, I took a look at the Amplified and was caught by the fullness of the last verse.  The Amplified had so much more – and it touched me and has followed me ever since.

“Wait for, hope for, and expect The Lord. Be brave and courageous. Let your heart be stout and enduring. Yes, wait for, hope for, and expect The Lord.” Psalm 27:14 AMP

In the NIV, it simply reads, “Wait for The Lord”. . . but I love how it is so much more than waiting.
We wait.
We hope.
We expect.
What do we wait for? What do we hope for? What do we expect?
The Lord.
God does miracles. I have seen it.  In one recent case, it took me getting out of the way, choosing to step aside, stop trying to fix things, and just wait on the Lord.
Was it easy? No way! I had to make the choice to step away from a relationship with someone who was very dear to me. I had to step out of that someone’s life . . . so God could step in.  I had to wait. I had to hope. I had to trust God to take care of that person as only He could – because my efforts had failed, and even perhaps made things worse.

“…really, the only thing, the only One that can bring me true fulfillment is God, and God alone.”

It was one of the hardest choices I had ever made.  I sought advice about it, but in the end, it was my choice. It was what I knew I had to do – even though it hurt.
The tears I cried were many, the heartache was intense.  I learned more and more to lean on God, to trust Him, to wait.  Do I have those things down pat now?  No.  I’m still a work in progress.  From where I stand now, I am amazed at all that God has done.
WaitingAs much as I tend to fill myself with those around me, with the things of this life, of this world . . . really, the only thing, the only One, that can bring me true fulfillment is God, and God alone.
I waited. I cried. I prayed. I waited some more.  God answered.  The dear friend was baptized recently after giving his heart to Jesus.  That was worth all the pain, all the tears . . . all the waiting.  God does miracles.  Sometimes we see them, sometimes we don’t. But God is worth waiting for.
Photo courtesy Ian Prince
Leave a Reply

