Chip's Projects

Project Progress: DIY Camera Bag

Last week I won a Sony Nex off of Ebay. . . it arrived on Monday. Suffice to say, it came with no charger and had a dead battery.  I know it works, because we took it to a battery place and they popped a battery in and started it up. That’s when I discovered an additional problem with it: tbe SD card wouldn’t click in.  My best friend and I went all over town trying to find a charger and figure out what was going on with the SD.  Finally I contacted the Ebay seller and they offered to send me a shipping label and give me a complete refund.

The next morning, as I was trying to find a way to fix it – the SD card clicked in!  It hasn’t been a problem since and I’ve taken it out and put it in quite a few times.  Now to get the battery charged!

I’ve ordered a charger and extra batteries from Amazon, they should arrive today.  I am so excited – I’ve been waiting for a week to just try this camera and I am dying to take photos with it!

In the meantime, since I don’t have the proper bag to carry a camera in, I’ve decided to make one.  There are a few tutorials, you can check out my Pinterest Board, ‘For Love of Photography’, for some of the tutorials I have found.

On to the project:


Camera Bag DIY

The bag I chose is a fun little bag that I’ve had around sometime. I found it for a couple dollars at a thrift store.  In the photo above, you can see the lining fabric I pulled from my stash to use.

Camera Bag DIY 2

Of course, my cat, Highlander, always has to be in the middle of any project.

Camera Bag DIY - Foam

Here, Highlander is overseeing the foam process. I cut out the bottom and sides of the foam padding for the bag. I decided to use some of that plastic stuff (forgot the correct name) to reinforce the bottom and end sides.

Camera Bag DIY Foam Cutouts

Another shot of the foam. 
20150506_215956_HDR

Here, I began laying out the foam to cut out the lining that will cover it.

I’m looking forward to finishing this project – it’s different than anything I’ve done before.

What’s your favorite bag pattern to sew?  I’d love to see it!

Leave a Reply

