Creativity, Fashion, Sewing, Vintage

What to Sew? A Project List

Lately, I have a serious desire to do some sewing … and a renewed fascination with vintage – specifically 40s and 50s fashion. (This may be largely due to watching Season 1 of Agent Carter)

I am cleaning up my little apartment, organizing, and getting rid of excess. It’s so nice! I’m looking forward to some sewing time in the next month and have pulled my sewing patterns out and hit a few sales at the local JoAnn and Hancock Fabrics. Suffice to say – my pattern collection keeps getting larger.  I have picked a few out that I want to make a reality.

40s Trousers

3688

 

After seeing Peggy Carter in her high waisted, wide legged slacks – I must say I decided to give the Simplicity 3688 pattern a go.  I first ordered it off eBay after thinking it was out of print – then saw it at JoAnn’s. The one I purchased off eBay is just a tad too small, so I picked up one in my size at JoAnn’s last night for $1!  Simplicity pattern sale!!!  This pattern has really good reviews for the pants and I’ve seen some really nice projects made from it. In particular, Debbie of My Happy Sewing Place, has made 6 pairs! These are my favorite.

 

Dress Suit

I would love to sew a dress suit for work – and a little vintage styling wouldn’t hurt. 🙂  At the moment, I am torn between the following skirt patterns:

McCall6019

I really like the waist shape on this McCal 6019 and the paneled style.

Mc6993c

But … then again, I really like this McCall 6993 . . . Especially view A. Check out the waist detail!

M6993_full_3_large

Isn’t that lovely! I think this may be the one I go with for my skirt.

2446

 

Of course – I’ll need a blazer/suit jacket…  I think I will go with Simplicity 2446 for that.

This is one of Simplicity’s Amazing Fit Patterns – I haven’t worked with those before, but this one looks nice.  I like the sleeves and the fitting. It’s a fully lined jacket. I will probably make some modifications to it and leave off the pocket flaps as I like a pretty smooth look.

 

 

50s Dresses

Summer really isn’t that far away (I’m wishing!) and what better to have on hand than a couple 50s styled dresses!

000

Butterick 6018 has style. I like the empire waist, gored/flared skirt, and the style of the collar on View A.  I am definitely looking forward to sewing this one up and would go with view A as I think it’s super cute!

B5708_front_large

I am really fascinated by the style variations that can be had with Butterick 5708. How neat is that? You can do different things with the sleeves! This would definitely need just the right fabric – something soft and drapey. Definitely on my sewing list.

The Big Question

Now I only have one problem … which project should I start first?

Leave a Reply

