Life's Adventures · Living Life

They Opened An Old Box At A Thrift Store … YOU WON’T BELIEVE WHAT THEY FOUND!

A couple weeks ago, my boyfriend (there should be a more manly word for that somewhere!) and I stopped in at Goodwill.  He wanted to show me a webcam he had found.  As we were looking it over, he noticed an old looking black box on the shelf below and said, “I hope it’s full of old camera equipment.” He’s really an amazing photographer!

Mystery-Box

To his disappointment and my absolute delight … it was not camera equipment. Inside that plain black box was a 1950’s Singer Featherweight – travel edition! Beautiful black with gold decoration, in good condition and fully functional. The best part? The price tag said $35.99 … and I had a 20% OFF coupon! When all was said and done, we paid about $27.00 for a machine that sells on Ebay for $400-$500.  EPIC!

Isn’t she beautiful? (It’s definitely a lady) I would say I am in love… but it’s only a machine.  I am in love – but with the Man who found it for me. 🙂

I haven’t sewn anything with it yet – but I can’t help thinking how much fun it would be to sew a 1950’s style dress on an actual 1950’s Singer Sewing Machine!

What about you? Have any of you ever sewn with a Singer Featherweight?

2 thoughts on “They Opened An Old Box At A Thrift Store … YOU WON’T BELIEVE WHAT THEY FOUND!

Leave a Reply

